Enabling SMART Systems Engineering

Boosting MS Word with Requirements Management capabilities

Boosting MS Word with Requirements Management capabilities

When writing any kind of document, the de-facto standard is clearly MS Word. However, when the document becomes more technical and there is a need for enhanced content control, the capabilities offered by MS Word are now insufficient.

Despite this, there are still people using MS Word to write their requirements documentation (with more or less success) and knowing or ignoring that they lack the necessary capabilities for a completely satisfactory requirements engineering practice.

In this series of short webinars, we will show you how, through our add-in, SES ENGINEERING Studio on top of MS Word, the capabilities offered by this tool are smoothly blended with those that the add-in provides. Thus, offering a fully satisfactory experience of requirements management where the flexibility of MS Word embraces the rigor of a more structured discipline.

1. Introduction to the MS Word Add-in of SES ENGINEERING Studio

This episode will show how to start a requirements document in MS Word and how the SES ENGINEERING Studio add-in will help identify new requirements.

Date:

Tuesday, January 31, 2023, 5:00 PM CET (Madrid)/ 8:00 AM PST (Los Angeles)/11:00 AM EST (Detroit)

Thursday, February 2, 2023 9:00 AM CET (Madrid)/ 5:00 PM JST (Tokyo)/ 7:00 PM AEDT (Sydney)

Registration

January 31

Registration closed

February 2


2. Writing high-quality requirements in MS Word

This episode will focus on the aid provided by the SES Add-in in writing requirements following the agreed rules and the agreed set of patterns. Also, from this add-in an overall quality assessment shall be performed.

Date:

Tuesday, February 14, 2023 9:00 AM CET (Madrid)/ 5:00 PM JST (Tokyo)/ 7:00 PM AEDT (Sydney)

Thursday, February 16, 2023, 5:00 PM CET (Madrid)/ 8:00 AM PST (Los Angeles)/11:00 AM EST (Detroit)

Registration

February 14


February 16


3. Parsing existing MS Word documents using different techniques

In some cases, the requirements are created by an external party, and you are given the document (MS Word or PDF) to be integrated with other engineering artefacts. In this episode we will show how an existing document can be automatically parsed to delimit the different requirements and provide a unique identifier so that all the technical management capabilities can also be applied to those external documents.

Date:

Tuesday, February 28, 2023, 5:00 PM CET (Madrid)/ 8:00 AM PST (Los Angeles)/11:00 AM EST (Detroit)

Thursday, March 2, 2023 9:00 AM CET (Madrid)/ 5:00 PM JST (Tokyo)/ 7:00 PM AEDT (Sydney)

Registration closed

Upcoming episodes:

3. Parsing existing MS Word documents using different techniques.

4. Managing Requirements in MS Word.

5. Managing traceability in MS Word.

6. Transforming MS Word requirements.

7. Propagating changes from traceability links.

8. Collaboration

9. Reporting Systems Engineering artefacts through MS Word.

Sign up for regular information about our webinars!

Book a meeting or a demo with our experts