Enabling SMART Systems Engineering

Writing rules for numbers in textual requirements

Description:

Either if you choose the INCOSE Guide for Writing Requirements or any other guideline, the art of writing a good requirement demands the correct selection of the words to use (avoid ambiguity, selection of the proper modal verbs, avoid passive voice in the main clause of the requirement, use of the specific subjects that will bear the responsibility of the different activities…). However, writing numbers either is not easy. Not only because certain values have to be carefully selected, using engineering and even early simulation methods, but also those numbers have always to either qualify a property or to identify the number of entities involved, never go with adverbs (e.g. “approximately”…) or be replaced by adjectives (e.g. “heavy” vs a given quantified mass), and when necessary those values have to be completed with tolerances…

Follow us in this Express Webinar to learn more about these kinds of writing rules for numbers and, beyond that, to see how a tool can do the review work for you in just 10 minutes. After that there will be 5 minutes for Q&A.

Date:

Tuesday, November 16, 2021, 5:00 PM CET (Madrid)/ 8:00 AM PDT (Los Angeles)/11:00 AM EDT (Detroit)

Thursday, November 18, 2021, 9:00 AM CET (Madrid)/ 5:00 PM JST (Tokyo)/ 7:00 PM AEDT (Sydney)

Download presentation


Related Links

Webinar: Real-time quality assessment tailoring the INCOSE Guide for Writing Requirements

INCOSE Requirements Guide Knowledge Library
Book: Real-time quality assessment of the INCOSE Guide for Writing Requirements rules: A tailoring guide